First off, according to a recent blog post I read, Bing does not support the inurl operator.  Therefore, if your main search engine is Bing, this is likely a mute argument for you!

Logic:

Most of us get what inurl is targeting. And most of us know what a URL is.

I believe there may be some confusion as to what intitle searches. It is my understanding that websites are coded with a Title and Body section. The “title” is what appears in the tab of your web browser. When you have multiple pages open, the tabs are what you click on to bring that web page to the front. The body is everything else on the webpage. Headings are incorporated into the body of the page, and I believe some people think this is what the intitle function is searching.

As I type this blog, I can see the URL suggested by WordPress. The url includes the date and name of my post. In most cases, the URL will be consistent with the Title of the page. Unless some outstanding SEO has occurred, there is not much more information in the title than in the url.

Therefore, I find the intitle and inurl functions to be a bit redundant. Apparently Bing may agree, being that they do not bother to support the inurl operator.

Challenge:

The most common function I use the inurl to accomplish is targeting profiles on LinkedIn. I use inurl:in | inurl:pub. What would be an analagous function on Bing??

