I posed my question on a group on LinkedIn and got two responses. Let’s see how we do!

#1 Courtesy of: Gary Cozin, CSSR CDR

 

“(“BA” | “B.A.” | “BS” | “B.S.” | “Bachelor” | “Bachelors”) * * * * * * 2004″

Logic:

1. I totally get the series of BA and so on.

2. I do not understand the use of multiple stars. It is my understanding that one indicates wordS.

3. 2004 is going to offer results from that year, not a range.

“(“BA” | “B.A.” | “BS” | “B.S.” | “Bachelor” | “Bachelors”) * * * * * * 2004″ site:linkedin.com “new york city” -profiles -jobs

This seems to be on target! But my concern of the limited 2004 results seems to hold true. Let’s try it with a range modification…

“(“BA” | “B.A.” | “BS” | “B.S.” | “Bachelor” | “Bachelors”) * * * * * * 2004..2008″ site:linkedin.com “new york city” -profiles -jobs

Alright! That seems to be working! Now let’s take a look at suggestion #2.

#2: Courtesy of Shane Bowen

site:linkedin.com/in (“Greater New York City Area *”) (“education” “university” “BA * * * *” “MBA * * * *” “2012 expected”)

Logic: I find this one is quite curious!

1. Since the part of the string is in parenthesis, I feel like this string has too many ANDs.

2. I do not understand the degree plus several stars within quotes.

3. 2012 expected seems like it would limit the results to a specific year.

Strange results…they seem to be a bit all over the place! I think a little tweaking and an understanding of the logic behind the boolean would eventually lead to appropriate results.

 

As I was told in my responses, there is no one way to conduct any boolean! I find it interesting and creative the way we each string together a boolean. I wonder if a better understanding of a Google developer’s SEO logic would further our capabilities with boolean!

 

The use of multiple stars is a new curiosity to me….

 

